May 13 2013

Harrow Council Cabinet Announced

harrow_council_logo2The new Cabinet at Harrow Council has been announced and will take charge of their duties as of today (May 13th 2013). Leader of the Council, Cllr Thaya Idaikkadar will be in charge of finance, contracts and procurement, business transformation, customer service and communications and corporate services.

He has appointed four other members of his group Harrow Independent Labour to sit on Cabinet. They are:

  • Deputy Leader, Cllr Asad Omar, who is the new cabinet member responsible for environment, community and culture and housing.
  • Cllr Zarina Khalid, who is the new cabinet member for Children, Families and Schools
  • Cllr Krishna James, who is the new cabinet member for Adults Social Care, Health & Wellbeing
  • Cllr Will Stoodley, who is the new cabinet member for Planning & Regeneration

Cllr Idaikkadar has invited the Leader of the Conservative Opposition Cllr Susan Hall and Deputy Leader of the Conservative Opposition Barry Macleod-Cullinane to be non-executive members of Cabinet. This means they are able to ask questions but will not be allowed vote.

Cllr Idaikkadar said: “I am delighted to announce the make-up of Harrow Council’s new Cabinet. I look forward to working alongside my colleagues to make Harrow a better place for our residents. There will be no great changes in policy. The council has agreed a two-year budget and Corporate Plan which will continue to set the direction of the council. However, we will review one or two areas to ensure we are doing everything we can to protect the services that our residents care about.”

He continued, “Finally, I would like to reiterate that we are not in coalition with either of the other parties. We are truly independent and will make our decisions based on what is best for the people of Harrow.”

Conservative Group Leader Cllr. Susan Hall has confirmed significant progress in attempts to break Council’s power stalemate. Last week, nine members of the Labour Group – including Leader of the Council Cllr. Thaya Idaikkadar – resigned to form an Independent Labour Group. The move left both the Labour Group and the opposition Conservative Group with 25 members each, with no party having overall control of the Council.

She continued, “Harrow residents deserve a Council that puts them first, and the Conservative Group will do what it can to help steady the ship. We have already come to agreements with the Independent Labour Group which we hope will create some stability for our residents, and more details will be discussed and refined in the coming days. This difficult situation – caused by serious divisions within the Labour Group – is not of our making, but we have a responsibility as councillors to ensure the Council focuses on serving our residents.”


(Visited 18 times, 1 visits today)

1 comment

  1. John Clement

    Hopefully the new council will be honest and hard working and will represent the interests of the people of Harrow rather than self interests. I suspect the current make up is more likely to achieve that than the previous one in which the views of developers seemed to be paramount.

Comments have been disabled.